h1

Uneasy like Sunday Morning..

March 18, 2007

Up until yesterday noon.. we still had no confirmed kids for the school holiday programme.. I was beginning to feel a little despondent yet relieved.. Then Siti, our secretary, called to let me know we had.. 11! kids ready to go on Monday.. Yikes.. Double Yikes!

As eager as I am to take charge of this thing, I’m also quite nervous.. It’s one thing to babysit your cousins, or look after my nephews and nieces.. but quite another when you’re caring for other peoples kids, and they’re paying for it..

I’m at the office on a Sunday.. Yup, no rest for the wicked.. My office looks like some playskool monster just barfed up every concievable item you would ever need for arts and crafts.. and yet, I’m still not sure I have enough stuff to keep these kids amused.. Or how I’m gonna keep them from screaming and crying for their mommies.. or eating glue and barfing it all up on my shoes…

I have my list of activites, my arts and crafts materials, the snacks.. the back up..

I still worry..

Here I am, 25 years old.. and I’m in charge of maybe 12-15 kids.. I’m no pied piper.. I really don’t know how I’m gonna do this.. and here’s the stupid thing.. at the back of my mind, I’m still thinking about my Tri-Distance thing, and how I’m supposed to get at least 5 miles in.. when I really have no time to hit the gym today…

I don’t know how to do this…

Leave a Reply

