h1

Deafening silence :.

June 21, 2007

I woke up with this distinct dullness in my right ear. You know how your brother blasting music through his wall sounds like? Only without the music.. it was like.. just muffledness, like someone had stuffed my ear full of cotton wool.

It wasn’t even tinnitus, it was just muffled.

That was the same explanation I gave the doctor this morning. He looked at me funny, and asked me if there was ringing in my ears. I looked at him like he was a quack. Family doctor for 25 years, he said that I was stressed, sent me off with a little packet of pills to help me sleep. Not that I mind.. I like pharmaceuticals. They’re my 3rd favourite recreational.

The ear cleared up later in the day.. like someone turned the volume back up suddenly. I wondered if maybe I was going crazy.

I want a manicure, pedicure, to lie my head in my boyfriend’s lap while he strokes my hair, to go blonde and maybe a boob job..

Leave a Reply

