h1

Guestlist Me UK are a thorn in my backside :.

June 26, 2007

If you guys, like me, once upon a time, attended all the hip parties in London,  got invited to the big events, it’s highly likely you guys got asked by some pretty lady/hot man to join their mailing list. All you had to do was give them your name and e-mail address and/or phone number and they would let you know about the hottest events and best parties and all you had to do was to RSVP to get your name on the Guestlist, and your weekend entertainment was sorted.

Flash forward to now: I’m old (and I use the term loosely), and I don’t wanna party no more, and I’m no longer in London. I figure..  time to clear out my inbox, because among all the business correspondence, I’m still getting all these e-mails from Tesco, Dorothy Perkins, Topshop, about sales and promos and from Guestlist Me UK about parties in Pangaea, Funky Buddha and all these places, and how who’s gonna be at what event, and I should ‘be there or be square!’

So everytime one of those mailings gets in, I click that little unsubscribe link at the bottom of the e-mail, and I’ve done that for Tesco, Topshop etc.. and they don’t bother me no more.. Yay..

However.. with Guestlist Me UK, it’s been quite a hassle. They send mailings out every week on Wednesday, Friday and Saturday. I have sent e-mails back with ‘Unsubscribe’ in the subject line for weeks now. And yet they still send them! NO MORE! PLEASE! It’s come to the point where I have to send e-mails with really violent subject lines in all caps like : UNSUBSCRIBE ME NOW YOU BASTARDS OR I’LL SEND KITTY POOP TO YOUR OFFICE, or my personal favourite : FOR THE LOVE OF GOD UNSUBSCRIBE ME NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS MAILING LIST IS MORE ANNOYING THAN A ROOT CANAL! before they take any notice.. and even then I still have to do the crapshoot ‘send e-mail with unsubscribe in subject line.’

My warning to y’all : if someone asks, ‘Do you wanna join our mailing list?’, look them sternly in the eye and ask, ‘How easy is it to unsubscribe from it?’

Don’t say I didn’t warn you…

3 comments

  1. Had the same problem, I finally changed my email address. As guest list service I’m now using guestlistking.com, as they don’t even seem to have a newsletter 😀


  2. GuestlistME are a pain in the rear end some times. But it a necessary evil, they do some good nights out but to get on the glist you have to register and then come the spam (newsletters)


  3. S4QR8B Excellent article, I will take note. Many thanks for the story!



Leave a Reply

