h1

New York Diary : Pleasure and Politics :.

August 9, 2007

It’s been a great couple of days in my favourite city. Between business and shopping, things have been mighty interesting.

I love the city. It energizes me, I feel like my brain is firing on all cylinders. I feel alive.. I’ve always been a city kitty, so maybe being away from it too long does some crazy things to me. But I am so relaxed and calm in the middle of the hustle and bustle. Sometimes I think, I really was born to live here.

Haven’t been shopping much. I went on a toiletries spree at Duane Reade. And we hit up Lord and Taylor’s and Macy’s yesterday. Phew. Not fun shopping though, my mom made me buy suits. I have to admit, she’s got great taste in everything she’s chosen, but I feel like a kid playing dress-up in my Momma’s suits. The jackets fit great, but the pants are another story altogether. I have this problem, apparently my torso is a different size to my bottom half.. so.. unless the sell suits in separates.. I’m stuck wearing ill fitting pants for the rest of this trip. Sometimes I feel like no one is taking me seriously.. I got carded when I walked into the bar area. What, I don’t look 21 no more? Maybe I need to work on my Oh-so-cute chubby face.

The Institute has been great. I’ve met some interesting people. There are a lot of educators, I feel so out of my depth with them. But they all have the same thing in common, the passion and dedication to make a difference and educate children in the best way possible. I feel their passion being around them and just talking to people, it’s so infectious.

There’s no surprise that there’s so much politics going on at the Institute. *sigh* People trying to kiss up to people, others dictating their whims, small groups and big groups trying to outdo each other, minorities and other countries in competition. It’s hard not to stay out of it.. But you try your best.

I was calling a friend last night, and she said I was being selfish because I had left Brunei without telling anyone or saying goodbye. I have my reasons. I think it’s about time I started being selfish. I’m such a people pleaser that it just really is high time I just stopped thinking, giving too much to other people, and just really thought about myself.

My relationship with this city goes waaayy back. She’s this lover that flits in and out of my life, makes me dreamy and heady with all her promise and excitement. Every visit with her is not just familiar but fresh and new at the same time. I doubt I love any place on earth as much as I love New York, and I have every right to be selfish when it comes to her.

Right, the city beckons. I’m off to explore more of my beautiful lover.

Leave a Reply

