h1

The New Frontier :.

September 29, 2007

Right, I was watching the Superman : Doomsday DVD extras and I am now totally excited about Justice League : The New Frontier, another DC direct to video feature animation, which will be released in early 2008.

JL : TNF  is set in the 1950’s and bridges the gap between the Golden and Silver Ages of comics in the DC universe. There will be a variety of characters in the feature, most notably: Superman, Wonder Woman (WOOO!), Green Lantern, Batman, The Flash and Martian Manhunter. Kyle McLachlan, Lucy Lawless and David Boreanaz will be playing Superman, Wonder Woman and Hal Jordan as the Green Lantern respectively.

So far, I think the actors chosen suit the characters. I know I had a lot to say about Anne Heche as Lois Lane, my complaints were justified when I watched the DVD extras. Heche put on a layer that was absolutely not needed in the voice acting. She overthunk it. And she blew it, as far as I’m concerned. But in that short feature, I felt that McLachlan really  was suited to be the voice of 50’s Superman. Considering that era, you need a completely different, performance, and I do believe McLachlan will live up to it.

I’m not quite sure about David Boreanaz as Hal Jordan. Besides Buffy and Angel, I haven’t seen much of his work. He’s hot and he does brooding well, but we’re talking Hal Jordan here. He’s a character of so many levels. I cried when he became Parallax and I wept some more when he sacrificed himself in Final Night. I know we won’t be seeing all of this in the film, but I will be expecting a lot from Boreanaz if he’s going to do Jordan right. Yeah, especially since we’re not going to see ANY of those brooding good looks.

I saved the best for last. Lucy Lawless as Wonder Woman. Lucy effing Lawless. THANK YOU! If I had to pick anyone to voice WW, besides myself, it would be here. Lawless has proven herself as a strong warrior woman character in ‘Xena’ and I have no doubt she will ‘bring it’ for Diana. Following the disappointing news that Jessica Biel might be cast as WW in the live action film, Lawless is WW’s saving grace. I would love to see her take the mantle of WW once, in real life, but the role  in the live action film needs to go to an unknown (like me for example!). Come on Routh did it for Superman Returns, I’m sure there’s plenty of unknowns (like me), who would give the character the layers needed (like me).

Right, fanboys and fangirls, mark your calendars for January 28th, because that’s when TNF hits the stores.. I so cannot wait already..

Leave a Reply

