h1

Small Bytes – The Singapore Shopping Spree :.

September 30, 2007

So I’m back from the small nation with the big population. It was just a weekender, much needed and well spent. I did the two things that I do oh so well, which is eat and shop. Not necessarily in that order.

It’s no surprise then that I came back with 6 pairs of shoes jostling for space in my suitcase. And now they’re jostling for space in my very, very full shoe cupboard. I know, I know.. I’m not competing with Imelda Marcos or Carrie Bradshaw here, but I have big feet, and when I find shoes that fit, I buy in bulk. And they were on sale too..  I know nothing I say in this paragraph is going to redeem me for the shoe splurge, so I say.. I don’t care, I’m happy.. I have happy hot heels.. And hey, this time last year, I bought ten pairs.. so I definitely cut down on the quantity this time! I will be one well shod senorita come raya.. even if I am gonna be all grinchy.
I did however drop a miniscule fortune in Guess. Very blingy, but worth it.. heh. I was trying on a pair snakeskin gold and silver lamé slingbacks in the Marciano store in Paragon, and I told myself, if they fit, I’m buying the matching handbag. A cinderella moment, chorus of angels and a smoking credit card later, I walked out with shoes and handbag, and a feeling of great satisfaction. I’m a bit surprised at my purchase, because I get creeped out by lizard and snakeskin textures on handbags and shoes, but I suppose since this was FAKE, FAKE, FAKE and there aren’t any super gold and silver snakes around, well, I guess fashion before phobia.

I’m in love with this huge black canvas handbag from prettyFIT. I’ve made the transition from trendy totes to scary shoulder bags! EEEK!  I remember my cousin telling me about the day when I will want a bag so big that I can fit my head in it, plus everything else I usually shoved in my handbag. The day has come! Oh Noes! Oh well.. what can you do.. I need lotsa room to fit in my sunglassescameraorganisercardholderwalletpendrivesnotebookpensmp3playermakeupbag. Yeah-huh. And there’s still some room to pack an extra pair of shoes and my cat.. Not that I would ever shove my cat in my handbag.. but it’s a nice thought that you can do so..

I confess to also dropping a small fortune on make-up.. *sigh* It’s not like I don’t have a large case of it already.. but I couldn’t help myself.. I just wanted to update my look anyway. I know Green is probably shaking her head at me. If I remember correctly, the last time she saw my make-up case, it was medium sized and full. Now it’s super-sized and full. Eep! Note to self : Must clean make-up brushes this week in anticipation of big events to come.

Yeah, like I said.. Singapore was all about shopping.. a few things did happen that I don’t want to go into, I have to think about it first. I did however get a gargantuan bruise on my knee (I am quite famous for these, because I can be Queen of Clumsy), from smashing my knee in front of the entrance of Takashimaya. It hurts like hell, and since it’s on Day 4, it looks very nasty. All purplish and angry. I hope it disappears by tomorrow. In the meantime, I keep forgetting it’s there, so when I kneel, I get jarred with a painful reminder.

I did eat quite a lot of snacks while I was there. I think I lived on either sugary or savory carbs.. which I honestly just enjoyed because there were some treats you just can’t get in Brunei, but I couldn’t help feeling a little self-concious because of the many walking stick figures around me. Not that it ever stopped me from greedily scarfing down pretzels and brownies, but it did make me pause for a second before I washed everything down with Mountain Dew.  I remind myself now, that I wasn’t built like a stick figure. I was built like an amazon warrior. Right now, I’m an amazon warrior on hiatus. When I get back to the gym though, watch out..

I will say this, all those stick figures were looking at me because I got one thing that’s all natural which they would probably cut themselves open for. That’s right, *grabs breasts* THESE BABIES! You know you want it, and I can flaunt it, you haven’t got it, so you just bought it! HAH!

Yes, I am reduced to juvenile taunting.. but hey.. it was a good weekend away. Tomorrow though.. back to the Monday grind. *SIGH!*

Leave a Reply

