h1

Shadow Puppets (WARNING: Spoilers) :.

October 7, 2007

Did you hear that? That was the sound of me screaming from terror.

Okay, maybe not terror.. but extreme surprise, and not in a good way.

So I was watching Shadow Puppets, a movie I had been anticipating for a while now, because it stars two of my favourite hotties, Jolene ‘Vulcan Abs of Steel’ Blalock from ‘Enterprise’ and James ‘Sexy vampire Spike’ Marsters, of ‘Buffy The Vampire Slayer’ fame.

Shadow puppets is about 8 people who wake up in a mental institution with no memory of who they are. As if that’s not enough, there’s something mysterious in there with them trying to kill them.

Jolene does a fantastic opening scene, waking up in a padded room.. Scared, freaked out, and slightly disturbing. But as the movie progresses, she becomes a little erratic. I don’t know whether it was problems with the script or it was just her. It was almost as if her temperance switched from scene to scene, and it wasn’t because of some monster chasing either.

James, as usual, is fantastic. How did I know that he was going to be the bad guy? Because nobody does bad guy sexier than James. (Is it bad if I say that I seriously want to bed him because of his bad sides?) With his good looks and a sexy voice that reaches down into your loins and sets fire to them.. Yeah.. *sigh*

I forget who played the psycho supermodel, but she was good. I was pretty disturbed by her. I would have loved to see her go last, because she added some texture to the story. Other notable character is Tony Todd’s convict. Creepy, scary, freaky and crude but unusually a source of comic relief.

There were a couple of plotholes which I was annoyed with, mostly to do with the rules that govern the shadow creature. The FX for the shadow creature itself reminds me of those old ‘pontianak’ movies that they used to show on RTB on Saturday nights, scary if you’re a kid, but cheesy if you’re an adult. What did scare the shit out of me was the sound track, because honestly, my hairs were on end when the monster attacked. Eerie, frightening, inhuman sounds meshed together that haunts me in my dreams. If it wasn’t for such great reactions from the actors, I don’t think I would have been that freaked out. That said, there was quite a bit of ‘woodenness’ when it came to the relations between the strangers.

Final Judgement : I was originally going to give this three and a half claws out of six, three for the gratuitous shots of Marsters and Blalock in their skivvies, and half perhaps for the story.. but I minus half because of that stupid nerd boy who should never ever been seen in movies ever again, especially in his skivvies. Ew. Not a movie you would want to seek out, but if we had Netflix in Brunei, I’d put this in the queue to watch when you can’t get your first choice films.
Maybe I’m just a big ol’ scaredy cat, but I was pretty freaked out. I had to watch a good 30 minutes of ‘High School Musical’ to get that stuff out of my mind so I could get to sleep.

One comment

  1. […] Shadow Puppets (WARNING: Spoilers) :. « Since I’ve found Serenity.. skivvies. Ew. Not a movie you would want to seek out, but if we had Netflix in Brunei, I d put […]



Leave a Reply

