Archive for May 21st, 2007

h1

Phone fun :.

May 21, 2007

At this very moment in time, I’m trying to update the software on my phone.. I think I’ve had it for a good 10 months now.. problem is.. the damn thing is so slow when it’s sending or reading msgs.. What worries me is the extreme warning that the installer has:

” Do not disconnect the cable or switch off the phone.Disconnecting the cable will cause severe damage to your phone and it may stop working.”

Yikes.

I’m so afraid to move, lest I jostle the cable/phone/laptop, I’m stuck in this position for the next thirty minutes. Oh, man.. I NEED TO PEE!

h1

You wants? You ask :.

May 21, 2007

I got invites to an exclusive torrent site.. So exclusive, ya gotta be invited by a member..

Just so happens, I am a member..

If you wants..  Leave me a message in the comments..

h1

Flan Rant (Where do you think Brunei is?):.

May 21, 2007

It’s hard being a Browncoat at the edges of the ‘Verse.. or in this case, on the other side of the world.. in a country uninformed people think is:

a) in the Middle East (no, Brunei is NOT Dubai & just because oil is our main export doesn’t mean we each have an oil well in our backyards)

b) full of lush tropical jungle so that must mean that the residents live in trees (like wtf? I have Internet, so explain THAT!)

c) Muslim Extremists (Hayll no! I draw your attention to the country’s full name which is Brunei Darussalam, Darussalam meaning ‘Abode Of Peace.’)

d) Dar-el-Salaam in Tanzania (It has happened, my family was once stopped in London Heathrow because the officials there couldn’t read AND were cavemen, like, Hello! You work at an INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. We nearly missed our connecting flight thanks to them!)

For more information about my beloved country, clickies here please.

Anyway, the reason for this rant is that, I realise I am at a disadvantage when it comes to buying stuff over teh Intarwebs, namely Firefly & Serenity stuff.. I’ve discovered that a lot of dealers on eBay won’t ship here, or they’re giving me a hard time with Money Orders and the like.. Ugh. Were it not for my almost fanaticism (or maybe I just have a highly addictive personality, either way, it’s the almost crazies), I would have long given up on collecting stuff..

I am just personally peeved because Zz is having a hard time with a vendor on eBay.. all because of me..

You know those Serenity comics I wanted? Well, Zz, the sweetheart, did some detective work, and managed to track down someone with the full set of 9 to sell.. and he won the auction.. only now.. The vendor says he can’t ship them because Brunei is not listed in the shipping calculator.. SAY WHAT? And he won’t ship to Malaysia neither, because Zz’s eBay account was registered in the UK.. so apparently he can only ship it to the UK, EH?

*Insert a lot of bad words here* So now Zz’s stressed out and disappointed.. and though I reassure him that it’s the thought and effort that counts.. I can’t help but feel disappointed myself.. as I REALLY WANT THOSE COMICS! *Grrrr!* What, do I have to move to the States or something to be a Browncoat?

My other peeve :
firefly serenity convention banner

*sighs*

It’s in Burbank, California on October 27th -28th. On the weekend of my birthday, there’ll be a Stargate one, same place..

You know, what sucks about it.. it’s that, as a single woman, who has no obligation and the freedom to travel where she likes, will not be able to go because I’m still under my parents thumb.. Yeah, it’s just the way things work around here folks.. And being out here.. I’m the only Firefly Serenity fan that I know of.. and who is hardcore enough to want to go.. Can you feel my frustration?

I know Zz would go with me for the sake of letting me go.. But it’s not the same as going with a fan (and I know he will get bored..) and his job means that he can’t accompany me.. Oy, The sucketh.

Maybe I need to find a new obsession..

h1

McKay youtube contest :.

May 21, 2007

Calling all Tauri, there’s a Stargate Atlantis competition on youtube, YAY!

Watch David Hewlett and Mars for the details.. Then do the clicky thingy here..

First prize is a new Mac laptop *low whistle* and a chat with McKay himself! WOW!

Better start building my Stargate in my backyard then… Where’s the toaster and the microwave and the the video camera?

Good luck to all!